Please enable JavaScript to view this site.

Nx Witness User Manual

The table on this page details the Permissions available to each Built-in Group.

•Built-In groups cannot be renamed or modified.

•Custom Groups can be members of any Built-In Group, except for the Administrators Group.

•A Built-In Group cannot be a member of another Built-In Group, a Custom Group, or an LDAP group.

Action

Built In Groups

Administrators

(Owner in 5.x)

Power Users

(Administrator in 5.x)

Advanced

Viewers

Viewers

Live Viewers

Site Health Viewers

Configure Site Settings


Edit Site Name

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Configure General Settings

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Install Site Updates

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Activate Licenses

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Deactivate Licenses

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Create, Edit, Delete Regular Users

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Create, Edit, Delete Regular Groups

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Create, Edit, Delete Power Users

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Create, Edit, Delete Administrators

 

 

 

 

 

 

Configure Email Server Settings

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Configure Security Settings

✔

see "Security Level"

 

 

 

 

Configure Time Synchronization Settings

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Configure Routing Settings

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Configure Plugins

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Create Site Backup

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Restore from Site Backup

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Manage Logs

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Update Site

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Merge Sites

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Connect Site to Cloud

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Disconnect the Site from the Cloud

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Audit Trail

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Configure Server Settings


Rename Server

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Auto-detect built-in and USB camera

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Configure Failover (all settings)

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Detach Server (from Site)

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Delete Server (Resource Panel, not online Servers)

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Reset to Defaults

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Restart Server

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Add, Edit, Delete Storage Management

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Manage Analytic DB Storage

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Reindex (Archive + Backup)

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Configure Backup Settings

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Pin Certificate (in case of certificate error)

✔

 

 

 

 

 

Cameras and Devices


View Live all Camera and Devices

✔

✔

✔

✔

✔

 

View Live all Web Pages and Integrations

✔

✔

✔

✔

✔

 

View Live all Server Health Monitors

✔

✔

✔

✔

✔

✔

Play Audio

✔

✔

✔

✔

✔

 

View Archive

✔

✔

✔

✔

 

 

Manage Bookmarks

✔

✔

✔

 

 

 

User Input (PTZ, 2-Way Audio, Soft Triggers, I/O Buttons)

✔

✔

✔

 

 

 

Generate Events

✔

✔

✔

 

 

 

Edit Settings all Cameras and Devices

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Edit Setting all Video Walls

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

View Event Log

✔

✔

✔

 

 

 

Edit Event Rules

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Edit Device Settings

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

View Bookmarks

✔

✔

✔

✔

 

 

Export Archive

✔

✔

✔

✔

 

 

Other Resources


View, Edit, Rename, and Delete Shared Layouts

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Create new Shared Layouts

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Configure and access Video Walls

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

Web Admin / Cloud Portal


View Metrics & Alerts

✔

✔

 

 

 

✔

View Monitoring & Graphs

✔

✔

 

 

 

✔

View Monitoring & Logs

✔

✔

 

 

 

 

NOTE: Many of the features and functions described in this manual are only available to Users with the appropriate Permissions.